Press Releases

Business-Man-With-Ipad-1280-525
For Immediate Release

Summer Arts Youth Program Grants Announced

$100,000 distributed to Sonoma Arts Organizations

Santa Rosa, CA  –  July 24, 2015  –  Creative Sonoma Thumbnail 120The Board of Supervisors announced today that 12 grants have been awarded for summer arts youth program across the County.  Summer Arts programs will take place between now and September 30 at art centers, schools and community centers.  The grant program was administrated by Creative Sonoma, a countywide arts initiative through the County's Economic Development Board.  

Projects that were funded will serve students in age ranges from 2 to 18, and include programs that teach young people arts skills in music, theater, dance, photography and more.  Workshops also include training in the business skillls necessary to have a career in a creative field, and life skills such as communication, working in teams and developing self confidence.  

"We are encouraged to see how much activity takes place in Sonoma over the summer to offer opportunities for personal exploration and development through the arts" said Board of Supervisors Chair Susan Gorin.   

This allocation of $100,000 from Sonoma County represents additional funding for the arts community of Sonoma, recognizing the ongoing efforts of nonprofit organizations and artists to bring arts exploration to young people.

Grantees List and Contact Info

AwardeeAmountContact PersonEmail
6 th Street Playhouse$10,000Craig Millercraig@6thstreetplayhouse.com
ARTescape$7,500Jean Prominski-Shepardjean@artescapesonoma.org
Artstart$9,000Samantha Kimpelsamantha@artstart.us
California Poets in the Schools$3,000Jackie Hallerbergjackiehallerberg@earthlink.net
Healdsburg Center for the Arts$5,000Diana Jamesoninfo@healdsburgcenterforthearts.com
H-Town Youth Theatre$6,000Argo Thompsonargothompson@gmail.com
The Imaginists$1,500Amy Pintoamy@theimaginists.org
Petaluma Arts Center$14,000Val Richmanvrichman@petalumaartscenter.org
Santa Rosa Symphony$9,000Heather Ah Sanhahsan@santarosasymphony.com
Sebastopol Center for the Arts$8,500Linda Galettalindag@sebarts.org
Transcendence Theater$7,500Brad Suroskybrad@ttcsonoma.org
Wells Fargo Center for the Arts$19,000Robin Seltzerrseltzer@wellsfargocenterarts.org

For more information on Creative Sonoma and the Summer Arts Youth Program Grants, please contact Kristen Madsen at kristen.madsen@sonoma-county.org.

###

 

Some content on this page is saved in alternate format. To view these files, download the following software.

Windows Media Player   Windows Media® Player for Windows, Flip4MAC for MAC OSX
Compressed ZIP Archive   WinZip® for downloading compressed files
Return to top of page
Return to top of page